Three days in Budapest

A couple of weeks ago my boyfriend and I spent a whirlwind three and half days in the Hungarian capital of Budapest. I was completely blown away but how beautiful the city is. The architecture is completely stunning and the compact city centre is lovely to explore by foot. It has the charm of Paris and the nightlife of East Berlin, making it the perfect place for a romantic get away. Here are few of my favourite things to do in Budapest.budapest

Castle Hill is a must-see area in Buda. It is a collection of places, castles and museums on a hilltop overlooking the Danube, the view is also pretty amazing. bluedanubeOne of Budapest’s most iconic landmarks is it’s thermal baths. We visited a few of them; the weather was really good so it was pretty glorious to sit and soak in the sunshine. The Gellert Baths in Buda were built in 1918 and have particularly stunning indoor baths. The Szechenyi Baths located in the city park have particularly beautiful outdoor baths.gellert bathsgellert baths
gellert baths 3Széchenyi Baths Széchenyi Baths

The ferris wheel is a great way to see another side of this beautiful city and get a sense of it’s layout and architecture.budapestmarket hall budapest

The great market hall is a good place to pick up postcards and souvenirs. The ground floor is dedicated to fresh produce, with fruit, vegetables, cheese and meats. The first floor has a couple of fast food restaurants and all the Hungarian souvenirs you could possibly want. new york cafe budapest

The New York Cafe has been voted the most beautiful cafe in the world. It used to be haunt of poets and artists during the Belle Époque. Now it’s a total tourist trap, but definitely still worth a visit to enjoy the stunning decor and a cup of coffee. The coffee is pricey by Budapest standards but fairly normal for those used to central London prices.

 

Keep an eye out my next blog post exploring the area we stayed in, Kazinczy Street!

4 thoughts on “Three days in Budapest

  1. Beautiful photographs (and I like your outfits!) My dad had to work in Hungary for the summer when I was 12, so my whole family moved to Budapest for 2 months. One of the best summers of my life. The dusty streets, the colourful ice-cream, the circus, the curved roofs of the houses, the little orange stubs you got on the buses…. ahhh. I hope you got a chance to try the largos (big fried potato fritter sort of thing, with sour cream and cheese. Delicious)

  2. I’m so happy that you liked Budapest, it’s such a beautiful city! I’m hungarian but I have been to our capital city only three times. I’d really like to visit it again!
    I also really love your illustrations, you are so talented! I hope you will make a cute illustration about Budapest, too! 🙂

Leave a comment