Illustrating a Book Cover

emma block book coverEarlier in the year Text Publishing got in touch with me about illustrating a book cover for an upcoming chapter book. It was a really lovely project so I thought I would share a behind-the-scenes peak with you guys.emma block book cover 

They had a fairly clear idea of what they wanted from the cover so I went straight in with the sketch. The feedback was that the plant life needed to be more varied and more wild looking. After my second sketch got the go-ahead I started on the artwork. I painted the mirror and the girls separately and then layered them on photoshop so they could be edited and moved. 

IMG_6401emma block book coverI painted the botanical wallpaper straight onto green paper which looked really lovely and definitely set the tone for the piece, but it was difficult to edit in photoshop. Ultimately I started the background again, painting individual plants on a white background which could then be removed in photoshop. The individual plant motifs could then be arranged on a green background which meant the design was much more flexible. The plant motifs were also use to create a gorgeous decorative title page. I also painted some little botanical flourishes to be used for the chapter headings.emma block book coveremma block book cover

I’m really happy with how the book cover has turned out and the author actually emailed me to say how much she liked the cover which was really lovely to hear.

The book is Elizabeth and Zenobia, by Jessica Miller, published by Text Publishing.

Leave a Reply

