2015 in review

coney island emma block
2015 has been quite a year, from a personal perspective I got engaged and spent two weeks traveling around America with my boyfriend, which was amazing. Wedding planning is going really well (#bridechilla) and I’m looking forward to getting married next May. emma block save the datenew york new yorkWork wise I have pushed myself to do new things. At the beginning of the year I started teaching brush lettering classes with Quill which has been so rewarding and made me love brush lettering even more (you can book classes here).brush lettering workshop quillbrush lettering workshop quill

In the summer I started live illustrating at events, and since August I have worked with The Hoxton Hotel, Swarovski, Westfield, The Whitepepper and Betty magazine. A year ago I never would have believed that I could teach a class of twenty or that I could paint someone’s portrait whilst they watched in just 5 minutes. Next year I will be teaching beginners watercolour classes with Quill and Makelight, so keep an eye out for those.
emma paintinglive drawing emma block
This has also been a year where in some ways I have pushed myself too far. I am currently suffering from an unusual presentation of repetitive strain injury which has resulted in a trapped nerve in my neck. Unfortunately 3 1/2 hours a week of yoga and pilates doesn’t cancel out 50 hours of being hunched over a desk working. Of course I know that you’re supposed to stretch and take breaks but it’s fairly easy to forget that until you have an injury. Next year I’m planning to look after myself a bit more.Emma Block book signing This was the year that my first proper children’s book was published, The Adventures of Miss Petitfour by Anne Michaels. Although tundra books first got in touch with me back in April 2014 the book wasn’t actually released until November 2015. When I was in America I had a chance to meet my publishers and do an advance copy book signing which was amazing.   CUGDxajWsAAZ5gsIMG_5047

The biggest project I worked on this year was a series illustrating 30 untranslatable love words from other languages. It went completely viral and was featured on The Huffington Post, Mashable, Bored Panda, BuzzFeed, The Independent, Cosmo, Metro and Stylist Magazine.Screen shot 2015-12-19 at 17.32.18

At the very end of 2015 I had the chance to work with my dream client Stylist Magazine on a feature about New Years Resolutions.6-alternative-new-year-s-resolutions-illustrated-by-emma-block My New Years resolutions for last year were to take a modern calligraphy class, to take a photography workshop and to visit America, all of which I did. My plans for next year are look after myself more, get married, travel and hopefully work on lots of exciting projects.
hello 2016

3 thoughts on “2015 in review

  1. I enjoy reading your years in review! It’s always nice to put things in perspective; we actually do accomplish quite a bit in one year if we put ourselves to doing our very best each day, and that includes taking the proper amount of time to rest and stay healthy. On a side note, do you ever chat with any blog followers if they happen to be passing through London? Looking forward to what 2016 brings you!

Leave a Reply

