2014 in Review

2014 has been a bit of an amazing year to be honest. It started really well with a dream job to create illustrations for a range of stationery for Aimez le Style. It included note books, craft paper, note cards, sticky labels, washi tape and stickers.
emma block stationeryA highlight of this year has been working with Jolly Edition, and I have illustrated wedding stationery for 16 couples, including my good friends Celia and Alexis.Celia and Alexis wedding stationeryjolly edition emma block wedding invites nyc

This has been a great year for collaborating with other creatives. I was delighted to be asked to illustrate a set of greetings cards for Rosehip Cards.emma block rosehip cards

I have managed to squeeze a little bit of travel into this busy year, though not quite as much as I’d like, which is definitely something to work on next year. But I did have time for a city break in Budapest with my boyfriend and a week in Lanzarote with my family.

budapestLanzarote plantsgellert baths 3I’ve been in a couple of cool exhibitions this year, including 100 Cats, organized by Laura Hughes.emma block 100 catsSomething that’s made a big difference to my year has been joining the gym, and I now attend several pilates and yoga classes a week. This has really helped me distress despite my busy schedule and it’s also helped undo the effects of working at a desk all day. 
yoga illustration emma blockI was lucky enough to be featured in Homemaker Magazine this year.emma block homemaker magazine This year Stacie and I gave four illustration business talks, three to the public and one at our old university. This was something completely new for us, and it’s been an amazing experience. insiders guide to a career in illustration seminar insiders guide to a career in illustration seminar

This year I illustrated my first ever magazine cover, for Hooray magazine, which was very exciting.Hooray Issue 8 emma blockThe biggest thing to happen to me this year has been working on a children’s picture book with a major publisher. I can’t go into too many details, but I have painted 145 cats during this project, and I’m not even a cat person (sorry), so that was bit of a tour de force. It’s been an incredible experience and I’m feeling rather impatient having to wait until September to see it in the shops.book sneak peak emma blockI am thoroughly excited to see what 2015 brings! I already have one big piece of news I can’t wait to share with you in the new year.

Thank you to my lovely readers to continuing to read this blog throughout 2014. All your comments, favourite and retweets really do mean a lot to me.

10 thoughts on “2014 in Review

  1. Congrats on all the lovely projects and milestones in 2014! Anxious to hear more about your new children’s book with all the cats :). Happy New Year, Emma!

Leave a Reply

