New York and Paris

gouache paint A week ago I bought my first ever set of gouache. I don’t know why I’d never used it before, it was medium I was never taught to use in art school and it was all a bit of a mystery to me. But after seeing the amazing things that artists like Ping Zhu were doing with this mysterious paint, I decided to give it ago and I am 100% in love. Gouache is more opaque than watercolour and less shiny and plasticy than acrylics, giving you a matte, vibrantly coloured paint that can be easily mixed and combined with other media. The main thing I love is that it isn’t shiny so I can use coloured pencils on top. If I had discovered this four months ago it would have made illustrating my last children’s book an awful lot easier. I’ve decided to use my new favourite paints to make some new prints for my shop, New York and Paris done, London on it’s way! There’s always something scary about using a new medium and worrying people won’t recognize your style anymore, but hopefully these still look like me, even if there’s no cut paper involved.

new york illustrated map paris poster  illustrated map  lo res

8 thoughts on “New York and Paris

  1. These are so pretty. I actually hate painting with gouache so it’s especially fun to see it used so well- almost makes me want to give it another try!

  2. Pingback: June: Instagrammed |

  3. Pingback: El Balcón de Alicia París, mon amour. - El Balcón de Alicia

Leave a Reply

