2012 in review

A very belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all my readers!! Thank you all so much for popping in reading my blog during 2012.! It means so much to me.

January

January started really well with my book Tea and Cake being featured in You magazine. I did my very first Style Icon illustration, which turned out to be a whole series which I’ve loved doing. From the very beginning of the year I was really busy working on a whole host of lovely projects, including my work for Hand in Hand.

january you mag

jean-seberg january

February

In February I had a wonderful time attending LFW with Lionheart, and one of my reviews actually ended up in the printed magazine, which was a first for me.

corrie-nielsen-feb

March

I had been working on a very exciting secret piece with Amelia Gregory and five other illustrators, which went on display as part of Shelter’s Up My Street exhibition in March.

shelter march

April

In April I took part in Shipshape Studio’s Illustration and Design Forum which was really fun and a big success.

illustration-and-design-forum april-april-2012-shipshape-studio-photos

May

In May I visited York with a lovely group of bloggers.york may

June

In June I officially launched my book Tea and Cake and celebrated the queen’s diamond jubilee. I also won a competition designing a jubilee print and enjoyed afternoon tea at Liberty with Charlotte Taylor.

june tea and cake

june charlotte taylor

July

In July I generally did a lot of drawing and pottered around in the garden. I was busy with lot of branding projects, blogger banners, greetings cards as well as preliminary sketches for my children’s book.

july gateux-and-cheese-colour

August

In August I had my first glimpse of Hand in Hand’s redesigned soaps and they went on sale in Anthropologie. I also thoroughly enjoyed the Olympics, the good weather and attending as many exhibitions as I could.

august hand in handaugust olympics

September

In September I once again attended LFW, then went back to my parents in Suffolk to look after my mum who wasn’t very well. By this time I was well into the work for my first children’s book, Hansel and Gretel.

lfw september

October

In October I moved into my beautiful new flat with my boyfriend. I was also still working very hard on the children’s book and busy preparing for my first exhibition The Enchanted Forest.

october new home

November

In November my boyfriend and I took a much needed holiday to Marrakesh, whilst I still need to blog about! I was also featured on the Laura Ashley blog which I found father exciting.

montage

november laura-ashley-autumn-illustration

December

In the beginning of December The Enchanted Forest opened to the world, and was a marvelous success. I also continued to work my little socks off finishing the artwork for Hansel and Gretel, as well as greeting cards, packaging and branding projects. On the 18th of December I headed home to Suffolk to celebrate my birthday and Christmas and to have a serious rest.

nov enchanted-forest

november show

christmas baking

I am very excited about 2013. I have so many exciting projects beginning and even more ideas forming. My goals for 2013 are to continue to continue to make my living doing what I love, illustrating, but also to look after myself a little bit more. Hopefully yoga classes and more time spent with friends will help me achieve a bit more balance in my life.
 
2 thoughts on “2012 in review

  1. Oh Em you’ve done such wonderful things this year! Congrats! I didn’t know you went to Marrakesh (or did i?!) that looks incredible, would love to hear more about it! Very proud of you 🙂 Continue your wonderful things!
    Lets meet for tea and cake soon! 😉
    x

Leave a Reply

