Book Review: Just Sew Stories

just sew stories

I meant to review this book months ago for Hardie Grant’s blog tour, unfortunately I didn’t time things very well and I happened to be moving house at the time. However, better late than never. Actually since this book would make the perfect Christmas present, and is full of crafty gift ideas, now is the perfect time to review it.

Just Sew Stories, by Katie Allen, is a craft book with a difference; it is full of things that you both feel capable of making and would actually want to make, a rare combination. It’s also refreshingly un-twee.

When I review a cook book I always like to make at least a few of the recipes. It’s one thing to flick through a book and look at the nice pictures; it’s another to make something from it. This is where the book either succeeds or fails. In the same way I decided I definitely need to try to make something from Just Sew Stories. just sew stories

It was really difficult to pick what to make, as there is just too many lovely options. An embroidered eye mask would be nice, a quilted oven mitt would be useful and a cosy hot water bottle cover is very appealing. In the end I decided to go with a vintage fabric bow tie for my boyfriend. just sew stories

The instructions were really simple to follow and the inclusion of the templates into the text made it really easy. I like sewing but have never used a pattern or followed instructions before; I like to just make it up as I go along with varying degrees of success… Just Sew Stories made the whole process unintimidating and fun. Hopefully I’ll have this bow tie finished in time for Christmas! I can’t wait to search the charity shops for more vintage fabric and have a go at a few more of these projects! just sew stories just sew stories

If there is someone on your Christmas list with a crafty streak this could be just the gift for them.

One thought on “Book Review: Just Sew Stories

  1. Pingback: Mollie Makes |

Leave a Reply

