London Fashion Week in a Day

This year I had planned to give LFW a miss, as I was going home to Suffolk on the Saturday. However I got a lovely surprise when an invite to Corrie Nielsen‘s Friday morning show dropped through my letter box. I decided spend Friday having a great day at LFW and ticking all the boxes.

See a Great Show

Corrie Nielsen’s SS13 show Florilegium was fantastic. As ever her collection combined highly structured pieces with a real sense of femininity. Last season she had been inspired by the traditions of Scotland, this time she looked a little more locally and was inspired by Kew Gardens. The show was dramatic, romantic and organic. I loved the clever draping and ruching of fabric and the use of sheer ombre layers, and I always love a good headpiece.

See Friends

One of my favorite part of LFW is getting to see so many friends. I was only around Somerset House for a morning but I had the chance to see Dina, Helen, Aisling and Amelia and baby.

Get Snapped

For me getting my picture taken at LFW is a bit of a confidence thing, it makes me feel like I’m not sticking out like an unfashionably sore thumb and that I have actually put together an okay outfit. Thank you Coggles for this photo.

Sun Glasses – Tiger, Jacket – H&M, Shirt – Charity Shop, Skirt – Anthropologie

Get Your Makeup Done

They do know how to treat you well at LFW. Since I only had one show, I had time to indulge a little bit at the Style Lounge at The Mayfair Hotel. It was perfect girly heaven; you could get your nails done, your make up, hair, lashes or have a massage. I opted to have my hair and make up done. As you can see Michael Van Clarke gave me an Audrey Hepburn inspired up do and the lovely lady form Cosmetics A la Carte is just finishing my look. I also chatted to Rosie Olivia about her beautiful hats and enjoyed copious amount of coffee, cake and an obligatory bottle of vitamin water. I left the Style Lounge feeling thoroughly pampered and put together. Thank you for a lovely time Fashion Monitor.

Leave a Reply

