Golden Afternoon Tea

Last saturday I went to a 99th birthday party. Not many people get to go to a 99th birthday party, and even fewer get to be 99 themselves so it was total honour to be there. The birthday girl was the grandma of Louisa of Golden Afternoon Tea Company. I’m doing some illustrations for the Golden Afternoon Tea Company’s website, so Louisa invited me to get a feel for what they do.

The first thing that I noticed was the seriously covetable crockery laid out on perfectly set tables, and the second was the cake. Piles upon pile of homemade cakes on tired cakes plates, and the piece de resistance was a triple tired victoria sponge cake with bunting.I had a wonderful time. About halfway through I made the transition from sketching to helping, and joined the tea brigade. I had lots of fun swishing around in my long skirt with fresh pots of earl grey and plates of scones. By the way, the cakes were as good as they looked.

One thought on “Golden Afternoon Tea

Leave a Reply

