judging books by their covers

My last project at uni was to create book covers for Alice in Wonderland (Lewis Carroll) and Perfume (Patrick Suskind) for the 2009 Penguin Design Award. Two book covers in two weeks is a lot of work but I got it done, albeit with some blood (got to watch those craft knives) and tears.

 

Here's my final cover for Alice, which my second and third year tutor selected as one of their two favourites out of the year (who knows why).

 

Here's a discarded idea for Alice that had quite liked.

5 thoughts on “judging books by their covers

  1. I really like the one with the rabbit body. 🙂 It’s unique and has tons of visual interests that makes me wanna look at it more.

  2. [this is good] I love the one with the rabbit it would definitely catch my eye when in a book display and make me want to pick up the book to see what it was about. The second one I like more as a piece of art rather than a book cover. I agree that you are very talented and it is always interesting to see your works when you post them.

Leave a Reply

