So seriously, does my bum look big in this?

I made this today with some Dylon Inkjet Image Transfer Paper. I'd never used it before so it was interesting to see the results. I drew the picture especially, scanned it and added the text, reverse printed it onto the transfer paper, cut it out, ironed it on and added some button and ribbon detail. I rather like how it turned out. I have another t-shirt planned; I just have to find the right shirt for it.  

Regarding the above picture, you should know that that's my 'I don't have to go to college today so I'm wearing no make up at all' face.

This is based on a real 1600s dress which some of you might recognise. I have no idea what it's called and a 'dress the size of a sofa' Google image search yeilded no results, so I can't actually link you to the original,which is a shame. If anyone does know where I might find a picture of it, let me know. 🙂

I won't be making more of these to sell on Etsy because if I can't sell then I'm stuck with lots of t-shirts all the same. However if you interesting in owning a t-shirt like this one comment or message me because I'd love to make one for you.

ETA: Someone on my other blog requested that this design was available on a postcard, and now it is on CafePress.

20 thoughts on “So seriously, does my bum look big in this?

  1. Adorable. Both the shirt and your ‘I don’t have to go to college today so I’m wearing no make up at all’ face. 🙂

  2. that’s awesome!  and i agree, you’re adorable with no make up.  how much would you ask for one of the shirts?

  3. [this is good] Great shirt. You might want to consider doing it on CafePress instead. That way you don’t have to have them made up yourself, they’ll do it whenever one gets ordered.

  4. Thanks! I did think of that, but then they wouldn’t have the buttons or ribbons on them. Also I don’t know what cafepress quality is like. I’ll think about it though, beacuse it certainly would be easier.

  5. We did the Hizzy shirts through that and Ex bought at least one and she said it’s pretty nice. The colours came out really well too, even the ones on the teddy bear.
    If you’re interested, you might want to ask her.

  6. [this is good] That’s so, so sweet. And you look great in it. My daughter loves that transfer paper. She just did one on the back of a jacket for her friend’s birthday, translating her name into some kanji, and making a circular design with it. Then she added some little details like your buttons. Would Etsy let you just show a sample, or do you have to have all your stock up front? Maybe you should do a jacket!

  7. [this is good] That’s so, so sweet. And you look great in it. My daughter loves that transfer paper. She just did one on the back of a jacket for her friend’s birthday, translating her name into some kanji, and making a circular design with it. Then she added some little details like your buttons. Would Etsy let you just show a sample, or do you have to have all your stock up front? Maybe you should do a jacket!

  8. [this is good] Charming, cute, clever, adorable; all those great adjectives apply – you are super-creative,talented.
    (And even my best made-up face doesn’t look half that good.!) 

  9. [this is good] that’s a really cool shirt! i’d get one from you if i wasn’t half a world away lol!

  10. The dress is called  “gown a la anglaise”  which means “gown of the english”. It is supported by paniers (beginning in 1709) which were basket-like metal frameworks that could be tied around the wearer’s waist. They became extremely large around 1728. It is said that the french door was invented due to this style of dress when the french queen refused to walk through a doorway sideways and the king ordered his staff to invent a way that she wouldn’t have to!


Leave a Reply

